HomeAbout NLBMVisit NLBM Museum StoreNews & EventsMembershipNegro Leagues HistoryEducation/ProgramsTraveling ExhibitsContact Us
The Hall of Game
The NLBM is launching a major awards event entitled Hall of Game to honor former Major League Baseball greats from the post-Negro Leagues era who played the game with passion, determination, flair and skill exhibited by the heroes of the Negro Leagues. These stars will be inducted during a first-class gala in Kansas City each year surrounding the week of Jackie Robinson Day. The evening will conclude with the presentation of the Jackie Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award. The Hall of Game tributes will be part of the new Buck ONeil Education Center at the Paseo YMCA building, the site where the Negro National League was founded in 1920.

The establishment of the Hall of Game and its annual celebration event has two distinct purposes: 1) to provide an avenue for NLBM to continue garnering attention for one of the greatest stories in American history in conjunction with the date synonymous with the integration of baseball, and 2) to serve as a significant fund-raiser to increase NLBMs ability to stay relevant with technology, community programming and to complete the Buck ONeil Education Center.

The Event
The inaugural Hall of Game awards gala will be Saturday, April 12, 2014 at the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum and the Gem Theater in the historic 18th & Vine District in Kansas City. Five of the biggest Major League Baseball stars from the 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s will be honored in a spectacular tribute that will include big-time baseball dignitaries and  in true Negro Leagues flair  some special entertainment performances. The event day festivities will include:

Press Conference  NLBM

VIP Meet & Greet  NLBM

Reception/Dinner  NLBM

Hall of Game Induction & Awards Show  Gem Theater

The Honorees
Four baseball legends form the museums inaugural Hall of Game class: Lou Brock, Joe Morgan, Dave Winfield and the late, great Roberto Clemente. Brock was a six-time MLB All-Star, leading the St. Louis Cardinals to three National League pennants and two World Series Championships. He totaled 938 stolen bases in his 19-year career and had more than 3,000 hits. Morgan was a two-time National League Most Valuable Player (1975 and 1976) for the Cincinnati Reds. He hit 449 doubles and 268 home runs and had more than 40 stolen bases nine times during his career. Winfield played 22 MLB seasons with six teams. He was a 12-time All-Star and a seven-time Gold Glove winner. He hit 465 home runs and had 3,110 hits. Clemente won four batting titles and was the National League MVP in 1966. He had 3,000 hits and won 12 consecutive Gold Gloves.


For sponsorship information, contact Erik Miner, (913) 563-5412 or eminer@premiersportsonline.com.

For individual tickets, ORDER ONLINE AT: http://www.nlbm.com/ns/ProductDetail.cfm?PID=673  or call the NLBM at (816) 221-1920.